Ceylon Tearooms

chef in contemplation…


Whilst in the staff Kitchen, chef recalls the wise words of the Vaidya she accompanied as they crossed the Rama Bridge between Old Ceylon and the Magnificent islands of Mannar. Never forget, he said , the importance of the six essential tastes. These  should be eaten at every meal for us to feel satisfied and harmonious. Why? he continued, to ensure that all major food groups and nutrients are represented.

Chef transcribed the following Vaidya’s wisdom  into a travel- weary battered leather notebook….

The brain sends the body signals when it requires energy in the form of food. By incorporating all 6 Tastes into each meal, we ensure that these signals are adequately met, thus avoiding food cravings or the over-consumption of certain foods..

In Ayurveda, all types of foods have been analyzed for their affect on the balance on our doshas. It is thought that the way a food influences our doshas is largely a matter of its taste. Ayurveda categorizes tastes into the following six types:

Sweet: (sugar, milk, rice, wheat, dates, licorice)

Sour: (lemons, sour cream, yoghurt, vinegar, cheese)

Salty: ( sea salt, rock salt , kelp)

Pungent: (chili pepper, black pepper, onion, garlic)

Bitter: (rhubarb, fenugreek, coffee)

Astringent: (unripe banana, pomegranate, chickpeas)

  • Astringent  balances salt intake.
  • Bitter purifies the body, good for skin tone.
  • Pungent (fire and air) clears sinuses, improves circulation, offers mental clarity.
  • Salty aids digestion, maintains electrolytes.
  • Sour nourishes, energizes, and good for digestion.
  • Sweet strengthens, nourishes, promotes longevity.